Home Travel 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup

2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup

by Jiya

FIFA U-17 Women’s world cup has been an event that has brought many memorable moments for the viewers. The event was full of new developments that made it even more interesting for everyone.

All the teams played with great enthusiasm to win the trophy. But the winning team Spain was highly dedicated to defeating their opponents.

Thus, they won the trophy by the end of the tournament. They were victorious after putting in plenty of effort and showing a true sportsmen spirit.

Thus, the FIFA World cup event had brought an opportunity for viewers to watch the world’s top teams playing with each other. Every team played to the best of their abilities showing genuine interest in the game.

That made the event worthwhile to watch for the sports fans. We are giving the details about the event and how it works Telling you interesting facts like, what inspired the tournament’s slogan and mascot.

2022 FIFA u-20 women's world cup standings

Since its debut in 2008, the under-17 teams from different nations of the FIFA member associations have competed in the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup on seven occasions.

The FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2022 was its seventh series. India, who was set to host the 2020 series until the COVID-19 epidemic was forced to cancel the hosting permissions previously. But now they were able to facilitate the competition.

It was India’s first opportunity to host a 2022 FIFA u-20 women’s world cup standings women’s football event and the country’s second FIFA event overall, after the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup for men.

Along with the host nation, India, Morocco, and Tanzania all took part in the tournament for the first time.

Spain was the Defending Champion of the Event:


After winning its first tournament in 2018, Spain was the defending champion. They were able to keep the title.

On March 15, 2019, India was officially chosen to host the 2020 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup. FIFA declared on November 17, 2020, that the COVID-19 epidemic will force the cancellation of the 2020 series of competitions.

Instead, India was chosen to host the 2022 FIFA u-20 women’s world cup standings competition. The All India Football Federation, or AIFF, was declared suspended by FIFA on August 16, 2022, as a result of improper influence from outside parties.

That’s how India lost the right to host the 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup as FIFA considered its options for hosting the event.

The AIFF regained permission from FIFA on August 26, 2022, because the AIFF administration reclaimed control over day-to-day operations. The competition will therefore go according to schedule.

Trophy Design:

fifa 2022 u-20 women

On November 2, 2019, at the Gateway of India in Mumbai, FIFA and the national planning committee presented the event’s official symbol.

The FIFA world cup trophy design, according to FIFA, incorporates aspects of Indian heritage and the natural habitat. The event trophy with vivid blue waves anda bright design at its base serves as the symbol.

The two features reach out to the peak of the trophy, which has a shape similar to a marigold flower surrounded by a water drop.

Bandhani textiles act as inspiration for the marigold’s colour and design, and Warli paintings and Bandhani decoration themes served as inspiration for the symbols on the stem.


On October 11, 2021, the Global Day of the Girl Child, the official event mascot, Ibha, was introduced. Ibha is an Asian lioness, a type of lion that is currently only found in India.

The name Ibha is derived from the Khasi language, which is mainly used in the Meghalayan state, and means “one with excellent vision or deciding ability.

The mascot is described by FIFA as a “powerful, lively and charismatic Asiatic lioness that strives to inspire and motivate ladies and girls by utilising teamwork, endurance, compassion and empowering others”. It represents Nari Shakti (woman strength).

In February 2020, the phrase “Kick Off The Dream” was officially launched as the FIFA World cup’s slogan.


The official draw was held at FIFA’s primary hub in Zurich, Switzerland, on June 24, 2022. This task occurred at 12:00 local time (UTC+2).

The teams were chosen based on how well they have been performing in the five prior U-17 Women’s World Cups. Each current champion of every confederation that won its corresponding qualifying tournament received five bonus points (for this series).

Place A1 was automatically given to the hosting country, India. In the group phase, teams from the same confederation may not meet at this point.


Participants in the competition must have been born between the start of 2005, and the end of 2007.

Match Referees:

FIFA officially nominated fourteen referees, twenty-eight assistant referees, and sixteen video match officials for the competition on August 30, 2022. In the 2022 FIFA u-20 women’s world cup standings, there was a first-time use of Video Assistant Referee (VAR) technology.


Susana Corella (Ecuador) was initially just designated as a support referee. She was, thus, given the job of head referee for the competition. On June 24, 2022, the group stage draw took place.


Every group’s best two teams progressed to the quarterfinals. Tiebreakers were decided in the following manner:
Assuming two or more teams are on a tie based on the above three factors, the following ranking system is used:

After telling you the interesting facts about the tournament trophy, the mascot and game rules, we are bringing you the news of the tournament winner.

Spain Emerging As a FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Winner:

Spain managed to defend their world champion title in the age-group competition by defeating Colombia 1-0.

In the FIFA World cup championship on the last Sunday at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, the Spanish team was the winner. In the 82nd minute, an own goal by Ana Guzman determined the winner and actual victors.

With both teams possessing two titles, Spain and North Korea are now in a tie for the position of the most victorious football teams in U-17 women’s World Cup history. That is because of their win in the last match.


Since its inception in 2008, the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup has featured competition between under-17 teams from various nations of the FIFA member associations.

Its seventh series was the FIFA World cup for U-17 women in 2022. Before the COVID-19 epidemic forced its cancellation, India was selected to host the 2020 series, but they were now able to do so.

After the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup for men, it was India’s first chance to host a FIFA women’s football tournament. It was also the nation’s second FIFA event overall.

India, Morocco, and Tanzania all participated in the competition for the first time, along with the host nation. Spain was the reigning champion after taking home the trophy for the first time in 2018. They succeeded in retaining the title.

India was officially selected to host the 2020 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup on March 15, 2019. On November 17, 2020, FIFA announced that the COVID-19 pandemic would necessitate the termination of the competition’s 2020 series.

India was selected instead to host the competition’s 2022 series. FIFA world cup qualifying Africa teams fans also enjoyed the tournament tremendously.

All rights reserved by Businessnewspost 2021